So long! Farewell!

Kristin, here! Reporting one last time from Reruns Boutique. After about a year and a half of being in the Reruns family, I’m leaving all familiarity behind and charting new territory; this Saturday I’m moving to Charleston, SC to start a new chapter of my teensy life! As the acting social media manager here, it only seemed appropriate to write a farewell blog…so here it is! In my time at Reruns, I have learned many things from how to find a pair of jeans that actually fit my body to the sheer perfection that makes up a genuine, hand-painted Hermes scarf.

Though it may sound cheesy, I’ve also learned a whole heck of a lot about myself and my personal style. I learned that being tall with broad shoulders and narrow hips doesn’t mean I can’t wear beautiful, well-made, tailored clothing. I learned that being pale-skinned and minimalistic can be and is beautiful. I learned that the size on the tag doesn’t matter as long as I look and feel good. I learned that I can rock heels even if it makes me almost six-foot tall. I learned that although I wear 85% of my clothing oversized, clothing really can be too big, not just too small. I learned that personal style is not an obsession over materialistic things and outward appearances, but an exercise in finding confidence and a sense of self. Finally, I learned that confidence looks good on everyone; not that I don’t have my insecurities, but I’ve learned that dwelling on them does nothing for me.

As I move into this new era of my life, my grand plan is to implement the parts of my current style that I love but with more care and diligence, more refinement, if you will. What I mean is I want to take my look and just polish it up a bit. So, here’s what I’m imagining (a girl can dream!)

Hair: Messy, curly and effortless is what it’s all about. Perfect beach look, don’t you think?

messy-bun

Make-up: I don’t wear much make-up, but I want the little bit that I do wear to perfectly accent my blue eyes and fair skin. I love this look from Fashion Week.

makeup

Top: I love love love flowy, oversized tops and that love will most likely only grow stronger living in a place where its 95 degrees and sunny all the time. Something like this Free People top will be a wardrobe staple, for sure.

top

Nails: Harper’s Bazaar says neutral nails are all the rage this season. I’m in love with this natural look. Polished but not too extravagant!

neutral nails

Bottoms: Jorts jorts jorts. I don’t care what anyone says, I love them. I especially love the high-waisted look, its flattering, interesting, and fashionable.

denim shorts

Shoes: I wore the hell out of my low-top Converse in high school and my roommate has recently resurrected them. Now I want some high-tops!

converse

Surely my style profile will change with the seasons (literally and metaphorically), but Reruns has taught me about fashion as a form of expression so I feel positive that said changes will just be a natural part of my personal evolution.  Leaving Reruns means leaving behind a little family of amazing women who have shaped me, challenged me, supported me, and befriended me. But, I’m leaving with lasting relationships, extensive knowledge about well-made clothing, a surer sense of self, and some GREAT articles of clothing that are staples in my wardrobe.

I want to thank all my dear, sweet, beautiful co-workers for the opportunity to be a part of this fun, fashionable and fabulous family and send you all a million kisses!

Until next time!

Kristin

One thought on “So long! Farewell!

  1. Thank God our online shop will be up soon. You can keep your style evolution going from afar. I will miss you terribly. You have a deep heart and strong sense of self. No doubt you will accomplish many, many amazing things in Charleston. I cannot wait!

Leave a comment